AustLit logo
Philip Hodgins Memorial Medal
Subcategory of Mildura Writers' Festival Awards
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


The Philip Hodgins Memorial Medal is awarded each year to a consistently outstanding Australian writer. It is given as part of the Mildura Writers' Festival, which Hodgins (1959-1995) helped to found in 1994. The medal, which comes with a cash prize, was established to honour Hodgins's memory and was first awarded in 1997. Hodgins was a critically acclaimed, award-winning Australian poet, whose work appeared in publications such as The New Yorker.

Latest Winners / Recipients

Year: 2020

winner Paul Carter

Year: 2019

Year: 2018

Year: 2017

winner Peter Boyle

Year: 2016

winner Jan Owen

Works About this Award

The Meaning of Recognition Clive James , 2003 single work essay
— Appears in: Australian Book Review , September no. 254 2003; (p. 21-29) The Meaning of Recognition : New Essays 2001-2005 2005; (p. 1-22)
Dawe Wins Inaugural Literary Prize Rita Erlich , 1997 single work column biography
— Appears in: The Age , 24 March 1997; (p. C6)