AustLit logo
Leila St John Award
Subcategory of Awards Australian Awards
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


The Leila St John Award is an annual award of the Victorian Branch of the CBCA. It is awarded for services to children’s literature in Victoria for the previous year.

Awards were not presented in 2004 and 2012.

Note: Not all recipients are indexed on AustLit.


  • Awarded for an outstanding contribution to children's literature.
    Named in honour of Leila St John, a founding member of the Children's Book Council, Victoria.

Latest Winners / Recipients

Year: 2018

Year: 2015

Year: 2014

winner Jo Goodman

Year: 2011

Year: 2010