AustLit logo
Honorary Fellow of the Australian Academy of the Humanities
Subcategory of Awards Australian Awards Subcategory of Australian Academy of the Humanities
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


'Honorary Fellows are elected in recognition of their significant contribution to the humanities and the arts, and to Australian cultural life. They may be practitioners of the arts, distinguished public figures who advocate for the humanities, or those who have promoted or advanced the causes for which the Academy was founded.' (


  • Honorary Fellows are elected by the Academy and 'include distinguished public figures who advocate for the humanities, practioners of the arts, overseas scholars in the humanities who have a close association with Australia, and Australian-based scholars who have made substantial contributions to the humanities throughout their careers.'

    (Source: Symposium : Newsletter of the Australian Academy of the Humanities, no.29, March 2005)
    Sighted: 14/04/2005

Latest Winners / Recipients

Year: 2018

recipient John Kinsella

Year: 2016

recipient John Hughes
recipient Tim Winton

Year: 2015

Year: 2014

recipient Robyn Archer

Year: 2013

recipient Paul Brunton
recipient David Marr
recipient Andrew Sayers

Works About this Award

Vale Alec Bolton 1926-1996 John Mulvaney , 1997 single work obituary (for Alec Bolton )
— Appears in: Newsletter (Australian Scholarly Editions Centre) , April no. 2 1997; (p. 9-10)