AustLit logo
Award for Innovation in Writing
Subcategory of Festival Awards for Literature (SA)
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.

Latest Winners / Recipients

Year: 2010

winner y separately published work icon Barley Patch Gerald Murnane , Artarmon : Giramondo Publishing , 2009 Z1594803 2009 single work novel (taught in 2 units) 'Barley Patch ... is a meditation on fiction and Murnane's own dedication to writing, and an examination of the relation between memory, image and lived experience. It is funny, self-deprecating, personal, as well as thoughtful and reflective, and enchanting in its clarity, detail and evocations of Australian life and landscape.' (from the publisher's website)

Year: 2008

winner y separately published work icon Someone Else : Fictional Essays John Hughes , Artarmon : Writing and Society Research Centre Giramondo Publishing , 2007 Z1415040 2007 selected work essay '...Hughes pays homage to twenty-one artists, writers and musicians who have had a formative influence on his imagination. From Chekhov and Borges and Beckett, to proust, Rothko and Cage - each essay brings its subjuect to life in unexpected ways. Kafka writes the parable of Abraham and Isaac, with no one to stay Abraham's knife. Wittgenstein considers the relationship between turtles and time. Bob Dylan stars in a fantasy of travellers and deserts and women with knives and silver earrings. Just around the corner from where Hughes works, Dostoyevsky fries kidneys in the kitchen of his Stanley Street terrace...Someone Else uses the essay as a form of autobiography. Here, however, the essays are fictions. Or are they? Hughes tells the stories of the figures who live in his mind by making them tell his stories - and in doing so engages in an art of literary vantriloquism.' - back cover

Year: 2006

winner y separately published work icon More or Less Than 1-100 i "not simply the stremam but they who thought of following", M. T. C. Cronin , Exeter : Shearsman Books , 2004 Z1150469 2004 single work poetry The poem More or Less Than 1-100 'consists of 100 parts, the line-count arcing from one line in part 1 to fifty lines in part 50, and then back down to one in part 100 with parts of equal line-counts making mirroring pairs.' (Back cover)

Year: 2004

winner y separately published work icon The Eastern Slope Chronicle Yu Ouyang , Rose Bay : Brandl and Schlesinger , 2002 Z976924 2002 single work novel (taught in 3 units)