AustLit logo
Oliver Mol Oliver Mol i(A150293 works by)
Gender: Male
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.

BiographyHistory

'Oliver Mol is a Sydney-based writer. He is a staff writer at The Adventure Handbook He grew up between America and Australia. He has lived in Houston, Brisbane, Sydney and Melbourne. He was the recipient of a 2014 ArtStart Grant, the co-winner of the 2013 Scribe Nonfiction Prize for Young Writers and the recipient of a 2012 Hot Desk Fellowship. He has appeared at Emerging Writers Festival and Melbourne Writers Festival. He has read creative nonfiction at the Museum of Contemporary Art. He has interned at The Lifted Brow, was a fiction editor at Voiceworks and is part of the Stilts Collective. (Source: Author's website)

Most Referenced Works

Personal Awards

2020 recipient Marten Bequest Travelling Scholarship
2014 recipient Australia Council Grants, Awards and Fellowships
2013 inaugural winner / joint winner Scribe Nonfiction Prize for Young Writers for 34 Memories From Growing Up in Texas

Awards for Works

y separately published work icon Lion Attack! Brunswick : Scribe , 2015 8074138 2015 single work prose

'An exuberant memoir from an original new voice.

'Oliver is a writer who’s just moved to Melbourne. He doesn’t have any friends yet; he can’t get his surly flatmate, Mark, to crack a smile; and the only ones who will talk to him are the odd assortment of characters at the KeepCup warehouse where he works.

'Oliver is lonely. Oliver is sleepwalking through life. Then he meets Lisa, and things begin to change.

'In the tradition of Sam Pink and Tao Lin comes a startlingly original, ambitious work of creative non-fiction that explores love, sex, and meaning in the age of Gen Y. Part romance, part tragicomedy, and part social critique, Lion Attack! is a hilarious contemporary coming-of-age story by a brilliant new writer.' (Publication summary)

2015 winner Scribe Nonfiction Prize for Young Writers
Last amended 11 May 2020 10:14:03
Other mentions of "" in AustLit:
    X