AustLit logo
Harold White Fellowships
Subcategory of Awards Australian Awards
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


'The Harold White Fellowships supported annual fellowships to established researchers and writers. It supported 150 researchers until 2014. Established by the Council of the National Library of Australia in 1983 as the National Library Fellowships, the first Fellows commenced their research at the Library in 1984. The fellowships were renamed in honour of Sir Harold White CBE (1905-1992), the first National Librarian, in 1985.' (

Latest Winners / Recipients

Year: 2013

Year: 2005

Bob Reece to prepare an edition of the letters of Daisy Bates
Thomas Shapcott to examine the papers of Ray Mathew

Year: 2003

Gary Catalano Fellowship (to write a biography of David Campbell) unable to be taken up due to Catalano's death.

Year: 1999

Year: 1993

Patricia Clarke For research on a biography of Rosa Praed.

Works About this Award

The White Legacy Graeme Powell , 1996 single work criticism
— Appears in: National Library of Australia News , February vol. 6 no. 5 1996; (p. 6-8)