AustLit logo
person or book cover
Photo courtesy the author.
Elizabeth Webby Elizabeth Webby i(A6186 works by) (birth name: Elizabeth Loder) (a.k.a. Elizabeth Anne Webby)
Also writes as: Elizabeth Loder
Born: Established: 1942 ;
Gender: Female
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


Professor Elizabeth Webby is a respected scholar, holding the Chair of Australian Literature at the University of Sydney until 2007. She is an expert in nineteenth-century Australian literature and is also interested in theatre, popular culture, short fiction, and the work of Patrick White, Henry Handel Richardson, and Katherine Mansfield.

Webby is an active member of the academic community and has written and edited numerous books, including The Cambridge Companion to Australian Literature (2000), collections of essays, works about nineteenth-century Australia and feminism. Webby edited Southerly for twelve years, and contributed to The Cambridge Guide to Women's Writing in English, writing literary profiles on such authors as Miles Franklin, Marjorie Barnard, Flora Eldershaw, Gillian Mears and Jean Bedford.

Webby is a member of the editorial board of AustLit, and a Fellow of the Australian Academy of the Humanities. She retired in 2007.

Most Referenced Works

Personal Awards

2004 Order of Australia Member of the Order of Australia (AM) For service to the study, teaching and promotion of Australian literature, for support to Australian authors, and for fostering links between the academic and general reading communities.
2003 ASAL Awards A.A. Phillips Award For services to the teaching and reseach of Australian Literature.
1997 recipient Australian Academy of the Humanities Fellow of the Australian Academy of the Humanities

Awards for Works

y separately published work icon Macquarie PEN Anthology of Australian Literature Crows Nest : Allen and Unwin , 2009 Z1590615 2009 anthology correspondence diary drama essay extract poetry prose short story (taught in 23 units)

'Some of the best, most significant writing produced in Australia over more than two centuries is gathered in this landmark anthology. Covering all genres - from fiction, poetry and drama to diaries, letters, essays and speeches - the anthology maps the development of one of the great literatures in English in all its energy and variety.

'The writing reflects the diverse experiences of Australians in their encounter with their extraordinary environment and with themselves. This is literature of struggle, conflict and creative survival. It is literature of lives lived at the extremes, of frontiers between cultures, of new dimensions of experience, where imagination expands.

'This rich, informative and entertaining collection charts the formation of an Australian voice that draws inventively on Indigenous words, migrant speech and slang, with a cheeky, subversive humour always to the fore. For the first time, Aboriginal writings are interleaved with other English-language writings throughout - from Bennelong's 1796 letter to the contemporary flowering of Indigenous fiction and poetry - setting up an exchange that reveals Australian history in stark new ways.

'From vivid settler accounts to haunting gothic tales, from raw protest to feisty urban satire and playful literary experiment, from passionate love poetry to moving memoir, the Macquarie PEN Anthology of Australian Literature reflects the creative eloquence of a society.

'Chosen by a team of expert editors, who have provided illuminating essays about their selections, and with more than 500 works from over 300 authors, it is an authoritative survey and a rich world of reading to be enjoyed.' (Publisher's blurb)

Allen and Unwin have a YouTube channel with a number of useful videos on the Anthology.

2010 shortlisted Australian Book Industry Awards (ABIA) Australian General Non-Fiction Book of the Year
2010 winner New South Wales Premier's Literary Awards Special Award
Last amended 11 Mar 2015 13:49:40
Other mentions of "" in AustLit: